The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of New Zealand has newly announced the Electronic Travel Authority (NZeTA) for citizens of over 60 countries. This NZ eTA allows visitors to enter the country for transit or holiday purposes and it remains valid for 2 years. NZeTA process is very simple and online. An applicant can NZeTA approval within maximum 3 days, but often it could be available in 10 minutes as well.

With NZeTA visa you can

Travel to New Zealand without applying for a visa application — if you are travelling on a passport from a visa waiver country, a cruise ship passenger or a permanent resident of Australia.

Cross Auckland International Airport as a transit passenger on the way to or from Australia.

Cross Auckland International Airport as a transit passenger on the way to another country — if you are from a visa waiver or transit visa waiver country.

Get someone to assist you with your NZeTA request — you will need to tell them about your criminal conviction history and whether you are seeking medical treatment in New Zealand.

This NZeTA is for those who is from visa waiver countries and wish to travel to New Zealand for temporary period.

Source: Immigration New Zealand

To be eligible for NZeTA, you must

  • hold a passport from visa waiver countries
  • have a passport with at least 6 months of validity from the date of arrival and have at least one blank page available.
  • must remain in the transit area at Auckland International Airport if you are a transit passenger

List of visa waiver countries and territories for NZeTA:

  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia (citizens only)
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong (residents with HKSAR or British National–Overseas passports only)
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea, South
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia (citizens only)
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania (citizens only)
  • Luxembourg Macau (only if you have a Macau Special Administrative Region passport)
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Poland
  • Portugal (if you have the right to live permanently in Portugal)
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan (if you are a permanent resident)
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom (UK) (if you are travelling on a UK or British passport that shows you have the right to reside permanently in the UK)
  • United States of America (USA) (including USA nationals)
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City
Source: Immigration New Zealand

Step 1 – You request an NZeTA

You must hold an NZeTA before you leave for New Zealand. You can request an NZeTA using our online form.

Step 2 – NZeTA approval

NZ Immigration will check your identity to make sure that you do not pose a security risk to New Zealand. This usually takes about 10 minutes but can take 3 days or longer if we need to investigate further. We contact you if we need further information.

Step 3 – You check in for your journey to New Zealand

Your airline or cruise ship operator checks your passport and NZeTA before they let you board. Have your NZeTA approval with you when you check in.

Step 4 – You arrive in New Zealand

If you arrive by plane, you must complete an arrival card before you can enter New Zealand. Present the completed card to border officials so they can grant you a visa for your visit to New Zealand.

If you arrive and leave by cruise ship, you can stay for up to 28 days — we call this a deemed visitor visa.

Source: Immigration New Zealand
  • A current passport that is valid for at least six months from the planned date of arrival
  • Arrival and departure dates
  • Credit / Debit Card or PayPal Account
Source: Immigration New Zealand
  • An NZeTA request costs NZD $9 on our free app, or NZD $12 if completed online.
  • You pay an International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL) at the same time as your NZeTA. This costs NZD $35.
  • Once you have requested an NZeTA you can check its status.
Source: Immigration New Zealand

In 2019 travelers will be able to call for a New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority (NZeTA). This NZeTA will become compulsory for travel from October 1, 2019.

Source: Immigration New Zealand